My Top Four Standards:

Administrative
Housekeeping
Entertainment
Culinary

I was born in Waco, in 1956. My father was born and raised in Michigan City, Indiana, and joined the Air Force after high school, where he was transferred to Craig Air Force Base in Selma, Alabama.

My genteel Southern mother, a business graduate of the University of Alabama, was living with her parents and working in Civil Service at Craig Air Force Base. Within three months of their introduction at the base, they were married by a Baptist Minister who greatly influenced both of their lives.

As newlyweds, they moved to Waco, Texas so that my father could attend Baylor University and become a Baptist Minister. My brother born 18-months after me, was so close in age that my parents dressed us as twins.

At the age of 6, we moved to Alabama for my father to take on various pastoral positions, where my brother and I were educated in the small towns of Calera and Anniston. In 1970, we moved to the city of Mobile, Alabama where he became the Campus Minister for The University of South Alabama.

My mother was a caring, devoted homemaker who worked to provide additional income.

Financial challenges were the primary source of conflict in my parents’ marriage, yet they raised us in a beautiful and loving home. There was no extra money for unbudgeted expenses: we seldom vacationed, dined out of the home, nor went to the movies. If we desired spending money, my parents encouraged us to work for it, instilling in us a true Southern work ethic: “anything worth having is worth working for.”

The powerful influences of a small town Church-centered life that comes with being a Preacher’s daughter created multi-decade values and friendships that have greatly impacted my life. I count myself fortunate to be raised by a loving, hardworking family, influenced by Church families from Texas to Alabama. In my adult life, the encouragement and prayers of friends-like-family from Churches in Tennessee, Georgia, North Carolina and Indiana have made me the person I am today.

I graduated in 1978 from The University of Alabama with a Bachelor’s degree in Communication.

My plan was to complete a master’s degree in Marketing, yet I was offered a 12-month assignment with Alpha Delta Pi, the first secret society for women, and spent 1978 and 1979 as a Traveling Collegiate Consultant. The experience taught me much about the importance of self-motivation, as I learned etiquette protocol for travel and consulting.

I enjoyed chapter site visits and meeting new alumnae and students from Santa Barbara, California to Charleston, South Carolina – igniting an interest in consulting, personal development and interpersonal relationships.

I have a gracious, southern service style, with a deep work ethic to persevere everything I do. I sense what is needed, while focusing on being a good listener. I am well-versed in managing people and expect integrity and a job well done by each person I oversee.

At this stage of my life, I have decided to transfer my skills to the Private Service Profession. I educated myself at Starkey International to prepare for a position as Household Manager. I am aware that I have a “Service Heart” – (a term used to describe “a person who has a natural aptitude to give and who seems to be born to serve.”)

I have been blessed to care for both elderly family members and dear friends in their “golden years.” Elder care I provided often required daily assistance with medications and meals. Other experiences included socialization and taking them on local adventures to assist in keeping them active and engaged. I believe compassion and a listening ear is important in caring for the elderly and I have years of experience in planning and leading activities for seniors.

While I am open for most environments and have much to offer as an Estate Manager, Household Manager or an Executive Assistant; including bookkeeping, concierge services for vacations, non-profits and foundations, my passion is caring for others, managing lifestyles and personal care.

My brother is married to a terrific woman named and he is a well-respected Golf Instructor. He has been one of Golf Magazine’s “Top 100 Golf Teachers” for two decades. My parents and my grandparents have passed away. Yet, I have an abundance of cousins whose relationships I enjoy. I am single, with a 4-year old Maine Coon Cat named Maxi, who is incredibly well-trained. I will go wherever I am needed that I may “make a difference.”

My Service Standards are Administrative, Housekeeping, Culinary and Entertaining.

Administrative:
Thorough, well-written communication, organization and focused attention-to-detail, and solving business challenges with Marketing and Communication solutions are my strongest abilities.
My computer skills are solid with current knowledge in Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint
and Office 365.

I have managed schedules for staff and vendors in a calendar / task format, Excel spreadsheets and in a project management software program called WRIKE. I have performed accounting functions, when required. And I have generated detailed special event countdowns.

I consider myself a caring, compassionate, goal-driven Manager, with focused attention on accountability.

Housekeeping:
Even though I come from a humble background, my Mother and Grandmother were passionate about their personal collections of china, crystal and sterling silver. Saturday mornings were Household Chore day in our home. One of my least favorite weekly assignments was cleaning silver. However, I learned to appreciate the beauty in bright, shiny sterling silver. I know cleaning and I am excellent in training and managing staff in all areas including setting up Zones and Task Sheets along with preferred products, per the client’s requests.

Culinary:
I prefer organic foods and have two decades of preparing meals using organic ingredients.
My Mother had adult on-set Diabetes and thus, I have experience with healthy, no-sugar, low-fat cooking. One of my best friends developed debilitating food allergies 22 years ago that caused her to change her career path at 50 years of age and became a self-taught Organic Farmer. She greatly influenced my choices in food and food preparation.

I would be comfortable preparing meals, as needed, or supporting a Chef or other staff member with shopping, weekly meal planning, and maintaining a pantry.

Entertaining:
Early in my career, I built a strong reputation for fun, engaging, entertaining, and memorable events in every major market in the United States. I am well versed in entertaining with more than 4-decades of experience with literally hundreds of events from intimate gatherings of 6 to multi-day grand opening activities. I have knowledge of Emily Post-style entertaining, table settings, and service. Events I have planned and executed range from casual BBQ’s and picnics to new business expansion activities to private black-tie dinners.

I want to be in charge of entertaining and special events (personal and corporate), based on the needs and desires of the Principal and their Family. After vetting a dependable team of resources, I can handle a variety of on-going entertainment, including small teas, bridge gatherings, luncheons and dinner events.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email