My Top Standards Are

Culinary
Entertaining
Housekeeping
Security

 

 

 

 

 

I was born on November 21, 1986 in Billings Montana. My family has deep roots in Montana, as my father’s grandmother moved to the United States from Mexico when she was in her twenties and opened Momacita’s Café which is a wonderful hole-in-the-wall family restaurant in Billings. His mother eventually took it over and has kept it going since the late 1970’s; she is hoping that one day one of the family takes it over to continue the family business.

 

I was raised primarily by my mother who was a Protestant, although not overly religious. She was a military brat, growing up all over the United States with her two sisters. Her father served in the United States Air Force for 28 years, and retired from the service as a Colonel in 1991. Her mother was a typical military spouse; she loved to entertain and take care of the household.

 

My father also grew up in a Christian household with two brothers in Billings, Montana; however, as he grew up he became Agnostic. He eventually joined the U.S. Army and served for 11 years before he medically retired. After he got out of the military, he went to college to get his teaching degree and became an art teacher in Hardin.

 

I grew up as an only child for the most part. My dad and my stepmom could not conceive, so they adopted a girl. I had a babysitter for most of my childhood, as my mom worked most of the time to support us. Around my friends, I acted as the conscience of the group and could recognize problems before they happened. When I was 13, I started taking care of myself and learned how to cook. That’s when I created my first recipe, a simple spaghetti sauce.

 

My mother grew up with her parents doing a lot of formal entertaining and felt it was necessary for me to know how to entertain in a formal environment. However, I did not learn housekeeping and organizing until I met my wife, whose mother had her own cleaning business.

 

I first realized that service was my calling when I became an Enlisted Aide (similar to a Household Manager for the military) in 2005 while serving in the U.S. Army. I have personally worked for seven different officers, performing administrative and housekeeping duties and hosting various military events. Serving in this capacity helped me develop my keen eye for detail.

 

I consider myself to be a giver, to see a need and to fill a need. I love being able to help others when they need it or sometimes before they realize they need it. I consider myself to be a hard worker and very respectable and honest, which has made me be the person who always follows through with what I say I am going to do.

I am looking forward to a Household Manager opportunity with a family or individual. Thank you for your consideration.

Top Standards

Culinary:

Having been an Enlisted Aide for the last nine years and working in the food service industry for 10 years, I have gained the knowledge of being very proficient in the kitchen. I have apprenticed behind several amazing chefs, as well as gone to culinary competitions, and trained others who have gone to competitions. I have volunteered at several Michelin restaurants in Washington D.C. and have an overall affinity for food.

Entertaining:

While being an Enlisted Aide, I have not only been responsible for making the meal or Hors D’oeuvres for events, but also the formal and informal table service. I have done personal service, casual service, and synchronized service. I have made nine-course meals and receptions for 350 people to include event planning, menu creation, and table setting and designing. I also attended formal table service classes when I was younger.

Housekeeping:

I learned housekeeping from my wife as well as through the Enlisted Aide Training course and basic military training. I have always been an organized person. The military teaches and preaches “Dress Right Dress,” which is just a military vernacular for everything spaced out, organized and in correct standing (right angles, parallels, and perpendiculars). The Enlisted Aide Course provided me with training on how to clean with the correct products.

Security:

Being in the Army for 15 years has given me the tools to be not only a chef but a soldier first. Weapons training in pistols, assault rifles, and submachine guns are just the first part of Basic Training. I also received knife and combat training. I have become very observant and I have learned how to react in tense situations. As an Enlisted Aide, I was also responsible for the safety and security of the general officer and his home. I have worked with several security systems in these homes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Technical Skills Synopsis

Administrative:

·         Skilled with Microsoft Office: Excel, Word, and Outlook

·         Excellent with inventories, shopping lists, and managing petty cash funds

·         Skilled at supervising and mentoring household staff

·         Responsible for event tracking, calendar tracking, and formal documents

·         Capable of creating informational slideshows

Housekeeping:

·         Greatly enjoy cleaning and keeping a home well-ordered

·         Capable of organizing a home

·         Skilled at zoning and creating customized task sheets for cleaning and maintaining a home

·         Performs hands-on cleaning, including dusting, polishing, sweeping, mopping, and vacuuming

Culinary:

·         Trained in classical culinary skills for six months with an American Culinary Federation chef

·         Took multiple culinary classes and volunteered with co-enlisted aides and at Michelin restaurants

·         Comfortable with cooking and preparing different cuisines

·         Capable of preparing different food styles: vegan, grilling, sautéing, baking, broiling, braising, Sou Vide, pastries, cakes, Hors D’oeuvres, and more

·         Trained fellow military culinarians who placed third at an international competition in Las Vegas

·         Received two gold medals, a silver, and a bronze for the 37th Annual Culinary Competition at Fort Lee

Clothing & Valet:

·         Experienced with care of military dress uniforms and basic business suits

·         Responsible for laundering, steaming, and ironing clothes

·         Familiar with shoe and leather care

·         Capable of rotating clothing for seasonal use

Entertaining:

·         Trained in formal table service and formal etiquette

·         Four years of experience hosting five entertaining events per month

·         Capable of cooking and serving formal dinners with nine courses

·         Familiar with formal receptions, casual dinners, casual receptions, and outdoor grilling

·         Experience with use and care of fine crystal, silver, china, and linens

Grounds & Property:

·        Experience with cutting, edging, and fertilizing the grounds

·        Familiar with weed-eating, mowing, edging, fertilizing

·        Responsible for growing an herb garden

 

 

 

 

Maintenance:

·        Experienced in identifying household maintenance needs

·        Woodworking is a long-term hobby of mine

·        Performed dry-walling and wood floor repair

 

Transportation and Travel:

·         Comfortable taking vehicles to repair shops for  monthly, quarterly, and yearly maintenance

·         Knowledgeable with changing tires, changing brake pads, minor detailing, and changing oil

·         Organized and participated in international travel

Safety & Protection:

·         Trained by the military in various security measures: fire arms, combat, and alarm and camera systems

·         Proficient in security and safety

Personal Care:

Guest Care

·         Experience with washing sheets, preparing meals and preparing a room

Pet Care

·         Experience caring for animals giving me medication, grooming, taking to the veterinarian,  exercising, feeding, and basic command training

Child Care

·         Responsible for the care and upbringing of my two children

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email